SIS Honoured in “Green School” Competition

Shantiniketan Indian School has been honoured with a participation certificate, acknowledging the dedicated efforts and contributions of the entire school community. This recognition is a testament to the hard work and commitment demonstrated by students and teachers. The Ministry of Education and Higher Education, in cooperation with the Seashore Group, held a ceremony honouring the winners of the “Green School” competition at the level of schools in the State of Qatar for the year 2023-2024. The ceremony was held at the Ministry’s permanent headquarters in Qutaifiya, in the presence of Her Excellency Mrs. Buthaina bint Ali Al-Jabr Al Nuaimi, Minister of Education and Higher Education, His Excellency Dr. Abdullah bin Abdulaziz bin Turki Al-Subaie, Minister of Environment and Climate Change, Mr. Salem Saeed Al-Mohannadi, CEO of Seashore Group, and several leaders and employees of the Ministry, winning students, and their parents.
The “Green School” competition aims to establish the principle of sustainability and preserve environmental resources. It strengthens the relationship between education and awareness of sound environmental behaviours and practices. It also seeks to build a conscious generation capable of facing future challenges and creating a sustainable society. Priyasha Ghosh of Grade XI presented two innovative science projects in the category of research and development, for which she won several accolades. A spectacular artwork by Nemsith Nimpura Peiris of Grade VII B was also presented on the exhibition day.
Receiving the participation certificate is a proud moment for the school, reflecting the collective efforts and dedication of the entire school community. The program activities were a collaborative effort between the departments of Social Science, Science and English. Moving forward, the school remains committed to fostering a culture of excellence and continuous improvement, aiming for even greater achievements in the future. The program was coordinated by Mrs. Payal Das, Head of the Social Science Department.

Scroll to Top